<

Can i carry a backpack as my carry on bag?

Postby jefferson » Fri Jun 11, 2010 1:34 pm

Southwest Continental houston and im flying to las vegas for 5 days. And i want to know if i can carry a backpack for my carry on bag? Can i put my cell phone, wallet, pen, notepad, tickets, ipod, sunglasses, chargers, Tylenol, camera, gum and what about my make up? do i have to put my foundation/make-up remover in a zip lock bag? can i put it in my carry on backpack or my check luggage? does it have to be 3oz?

What about my regular size perfume/shampoo, can i put that in my check luggage? or does it have to be 3oz to put in my check luggage? and what about cigarettes or a light where does this go, backpack or check luggage or neither?

and does my toothpaste/deodorant has to be 3oz or regular size if goes in check luggage?

I'm sorry i never fly on a airplane before this is my first time and i am so confused. thanks
jefferson

Postby haslett37 » Fri Jun 11, 2010 1:36 pm

I'm flying Airtran in a bit, and I'm allowed one carry on suitcase and one "personal item" which I guess just has to fit under the seat, I was told by my teachers that the personal item can be a backpack. ALl liquids can only be 3 ounces or less, you can't have two bottles or more of it, I was wondering that. So, if you wanted to bring two 3 ounce bottles of the same liquid its not gonna be permitted. All your liquids or gells have to fit in a quart sized bag for carry on. I'm not sure, but I think if you've got a bigger bag of liquids you'll just have to get it checked which costs money. If you're willing to pay extra, checked luggage can consist of more liquids. Lighters are not allowed on planes, you'll have to check about the cigarettes tsa.gov should help you and tell you the dimensions for carry on bags and such.
haslett37

<

Postby doogan » Fri Jun 11, 2010 1:39 pm

Yes, you can use a backpack as a carry-on. It just has to meet the size requiremtns and a book-bag size backpack is fine.