<

How long does an Ipod Nano usually last? as in life expectancy?

Postby guang » Mon Nov 01, 2010 3:07 am

I've never owned an Ipod before, so I'm kinda new to them. Anyway, my friend said I could have his old Ipod Nano third gen. for twenty bucks, not a major purchase, I'm just wondering how long I can expect it to last. It's been cared for kind of average. When do the batteries usually start giving out on those things?
guang

Postby adney32 » Mon Nov 01, 2010 3:09 am

I got my third gen for my birthday when that version first came out (September 2007) and I still have it. It works very well, considering the immense wear and tear I've put it through by dropping it. It still charges normally and has a good battery life (several hours, if I charge it overnight for a trip it can last like 6-8). You may have to replace the headphones every one in awhile, but that says nothing of the actual iPod. Buy it, your friend is really offering you a good deal. The square design was by far the best Apple came up with and it gives you nearly all of what that newest generation does. You can likely expect it to last you at least a few more years.
adney32

<

Postby bromly7 » Mon Nov 01, 2010 3:16 am

Id say about ten years if you treat it well. I still have the very first nano and i got it when it first came out like five or six years ago. Works like a charm.
bromly7

Postby kennelly » Mon Nov 01, 2010 3:19 am

Extend Your Battery Life
If you want to extend the battery life of your iPod for any given charge cycle, you may conserve power by following these tips.
Hold and Pause It may seem obvious, but set the Hold switch when you aren’t using your iPod. This will prevent iPod controls from inadvertently waking up iPod and using unnecessary power. Also, if you are not listening to iPod, pause it, or turn it off by pressing the play button for two seconds.